6 Multilingual QR Menu Platforms Compared for Restaurants in Austria, Ireland, Malta, Norway and the UK
Quick answer
For most independent restaurants, cafés, pubs and small hotel groups across Austria, Ireland, Malta, Norway and the UK, MenuForma is the easiest starting point: its Free Forever plan publishes a complete QR menu for one restaurant in one primary language with no credit card, and paid plans add multiple languages and ordering workflows. Choose Menubly if you want a mini website plus zero-commission pickup and delivery on a low-cost plan, UpMenu if you need a modular ordering platform with POS and delivery modules, FineDine if AI-assisted menu, website and marketing content matters most, MustHaveMenus if brand-consistent print, QR and digital signage is the priority, and treat GloriaFood as a free but time-limited option because its own page states it reaches end of life on 30 April 2027.
What a multilingual QR menu actually is
A multilingual QR menu is a mobile web menu that opens in a guest's phone browser after scanning a QR code, and that can present the same dishes, prices and descriptions in more than one language. It is not a PDF uploaded behind a code, and it is not the same thing as a POS system. The practical difference is that a PDF is fixed once it is exported, while a QR menu platform stores dishes as data, so a price change or a sold-out item can be updated without reprinting anything.
For venues in Austria, Ireland, Malta, Norway and the UK, three capabilities usually decide the purchase. First, language delivery: can the menu be read in German, English, Norwegian or another guest language, and can several languages be active at the same time? Second, ordering depth: is the menu display-only, or does it take table, pickup, takeaway and delivery orders? Third, allergen and dietary presentation: can allergen information be attached to individual dishes and shown on the guest's phone?
MenuForma's official product page describes exactly this workflow: a menu is created from a PDF, photo or website link, dishes and prices are extracted with AI assistance, the result is reviewed and edited, and the same QR code keeps working after updates. That is the workflow this comparison tests each product against.
How we compared these six platforms
Every product below was checked against the same eight questions: can a restaurant start free or does it need a paid contract; can an existing menu be imported rather than retyped; does the menu work well on a phone; can prices and availability be changed in real time; does it support QR ordering or only display; does it force a particular POS or payment processor; is it aimed at one independent site or at groups; and what is its clearest published advantage.
All product facts, plan names and prices in this article come from the vendors' own product and pricing pages, read on 10 October 2026. Prices are shown in the currency the vendor publishes, which for most of these products is US dollars, while UpMenu also lists euro, pound, Canadian dollar and Swiss franc equivalents. No exchange rate is applied here, and no local VAT rate, service charge rule or tipping norm is asserted for any of the five countries, because the sources reviewed do not contain them. Restaurants should confirm current plan details, billing currency and tax treatment on the official pricing page before subscribing.
Comparison table: six QR menu platforms side by side

| Platform | Free or trial | Published price or billing | Language delivery | Simultaneous multi-language | Menu and ordering capability | Key limitation | Best suited to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MenuForma | Free Forever plan, no credit card, not a time-limited trial | Free Forever $0/month; Regular $9.9/month, monthly or billed annually with 20% saving | 70+ languages advertised; free plan 1 primary language | Multiple languages on paid plans only | QR menu display, table QR ordering, unified QR, hotel/room service, tablet mode, pickup, takeaway, delivery, EU allergen labels | Free plan is single-language and shows MenuForma branding | Independents, cafés, bars, hotels and small groups wanting a complete QR menu without replacing the POS |
| Menubly | Free forever plan plus stated 30-day free trial, no credit card | FREE $0/month; PRO $9.99/month or $7.99/month billed as $95.99 yearly; CUSTOM on request | No language count or translation feature stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read | Interactive online menu by link or QR, pickup and delivery ordering, zero commission claimed, WhatsApp ordering, mini website | PRO covers 1 built-in online menu and 1 QR code menu | Small restaurants, cafés, bakeries and food trucks wanting a menu plus mini website and direct ordering |
| UpMenu | 7-day free trial, no credit card; free setup service stated | Web Ordering $49 for 75 orders, $89 for 210 orders, $169 unlimited per location; other modules priced separately; prices monthly and net, excluding VAT/GST | Menu available in multiple languages for international customers | Multiple languages listed as a platform capability; no per-plan limit stated | Commission-free ordering storefront, QR menu, tableside ordering, branded app, POS, KDS, delivery modules, marketplace aggregation | Modular pricing means total cost depends on selected modules; order limits apply on lower tiers with $1.90 per additional order | Restaurants and chains wanting a modular ordering platform with flat fees instead of commission |
| FineDine | Free trial call to action; trial length not stated | Starter $29/month, Growth $69/month, Premium $135/month, each billed annually with 20% saving | AI language translation listed on all plans; Starter 1 language and currency | Multiple languages and currencies on Growth and Premium; Starter limited to 1 | AI QR and mobile menu, order and pay, dine-in tables, reservations, CRM, allergen and nutrition labels | Starter caps menu items at 100, dine-in tables at 20 and monthly orders at 1,000 | Restaurants and multi-location brands wanting AI-assisted menu, website and marketing in one platform |
| GloriaFood | Free service plan, no credit card required | Free plan with unlimited orders, no commission, no monthly fee; optional POS US$49/month per location with 2-year commitment, online payment US$29/month, reservation deposits US$0.5 per guest, advanced promo marketing US$19/month | Interface languages listed; menu language counts not stated | Not stated on the pages read | Free website ordering widget, QR code menu for dine-in, table reservations, hotel room service ordering, multi-location dashboard | Vendor page states end of life on 30 April 2027; online payments, POS and advanced marketing are paid add-ons | Operators wanting a free ordering entry point who can accept the announced 2027 end-of-life date |
| MustHaveMenus | No free plan or free trial stated; free ROI consultation and paid enterprise pilot | Design $24/month paid annually; Pro $50 per location/month paid annually; Display add-on $20 per screen/month; Listings add-on $60 per location/month; Enterprise quoted | No menu language count or translation feature stated on the pages read | Not stated on the pages read | Menu design and print-ready PDFs, QR codes and web links, digital signage, listings sync, Toast and Square POS sync on Pro | Design-led platform rather than an all-in-one ordering and payment system; signage, listings, printing and hardware are separate costs | Restaurants and multi-location groups needing brand-consistent menus across print, QR, web and screens |
Detailed reviews
MenuForma
Best for: independent restaurants, cafés, bakeries, bars, food trucks and hotels that want a complete QR menu quickly without replacing their existing POS.
Free or trial: a Free Forever plan with no credit card required, described on the official page as not a time-limited trial and with no QR code scan limit.
Language mode: the product page states menus can be offered in more than 70 languages; the pricing page lists one primary language on Free and multiple languages on the paid plan, so simultaneous multi-language menus are a paid feature.
Core strengths: first, the menu can be created from an existing PDF, photo or website link, with AI-assisted extraction of dishes, prices and descriptions that the operator reviews before publishing. Second, the same QR code keeps working after edits, so price changes, seasonal specials and sold-out items do not require a reprint. The platform also lists EU allergen labels, Google review collection, analytics, custom QR codes with logo and call-to-action, and several QR modes including per-table, unified venue, hotel and room service, and tablet mode.
Limitation: the free plan is limited to one primary language and displays MenuForma branding; multiple languages, branding removal and advanced ordering modes require the paid plan. Online payments are powered by Stripe and are available in the countries Stripe supports, so operators should confirm availability for their own market.
Verdict: the lowest-risk route from an existing menu to a working multilingual QR menu, with a permanent free starting point and no forced POS replacement. Plan details should be confirmed on the official pricing page before purchase.
Menubly
Best for: restaurants, cafés, bakeries, food trucks, ghost kitchens and caterers that want a mini website plus direct ordering with no commission.
Free or trial: a free forever plan plus a stated 30-day free trial, with no credit card required.
Language mode: the official product and pricing pages read do not state a menu language count or a translation feature, and they do not describe whether several languages can be shown in one menu at the same time. Operators who need multilingual menus should ask the vendor directly before subscribing.
Core strengths: the platform combines an interactive online menu reachable by link or QR code with built-in pickup and delivery ordering, and it states zero commission on orders. It also lists WhatsApp ordering, a one-page restaurant mini website, a link-in-bio page for social profiles, and more than 100 payment methods including cash on delivery.
Limitation: the PRO plan includes one built-in online menu and one QR code menu, and custom domain and custom menu design sit in the PRO or CUSTOM tiers. Because no multilingual capability is published, it is a weaker fit for venues that must serve guests in several languages at once.
Verdict: a low-cost menu-plus-website option for small food businesses, provided multilingual delivery is not a requirement. Confirm current plan terms on the official pricing page.
UpMenu
Best for: restaurants and chains that want a modular, commission-free ordering platform with POS, app and delivery options.
Free or trial: a 7-day free trial with no credit card needed, plus a free setup service.
Language mode: the product page states the menu is available in multiple languages for international customers, and the pricing page lists Multi Language under the Website module. The pages read do not specify how many languages can be active at once.
Core strengths: the platform is built around a commission-free ordering storefront on the restaurant's own website, with a QR code menu and tableside ordering, a branded iOS and Android app, POS and KDS modules, delivery management, loyalty and marketing tools, and marketplace order aggregation. Pricing is published per module, and the pricing page lists euro, pound, Canadian dollar and Swiss franc equivalents alongside US dollars.
Limitation: because pricing is modular, the total monthly cost depends on which modules are selected, and the lower Web Ordering tiers carry order limits of 75 or 210 orders with $1.90 charged per additional order. Online payments are only available in countries supported by the integrated payment gateways.
Verdict: a strong fit when a restaurant wants to move repeat orders away from marketplace commission and is prepared to pay for several modules. Check the official pricing page for current module prices and currency.
FineDine
Best for: restaurants and multi-location brands that want AI-assisted menu, website, marketing and reporting in one platform.
Free or trial: the product page shows a Start Your Free Trial call to action; the pricing page read does not state a trial length.
Language mode: AI language translation is listed as included in all plans, but the Starter plan is limited to one language and one currency, while Growth and Premium list multiple languages and currencies.
Core strengths: the platform combines an AI-powered QR and mobile menu with an AI media studio for photo, video and 3D content, an AI-generated website, order and pay with dine-in tables, reservations, CRM and marketing automation, and allergen and nutrition labels on all plans. The vendor states its menu engineering engine is trained on a decade of restaurant data and over 150 million dining sessions.
Limitation: Starter caps menu items at 100, dine-in tables at 20 and monthly orders at 1,000, and it excludes custom domain and multi-location display. Restaurants that need several simultaneous languages must move to Growth or Premium.
Verdict: the most content-heavy option in this comparison, best suited to operators who will use the AI menu, website and marketing features rather than a simple QR menu. Confirm plan limits on the official pricing page.
GloriaFood
Best for: restaurants, coffee shops and food trucks that want a free ordering entry point and can accept the announced 2027 end-of-life date.
Free or trial: a free service plan with no credit card required, no monthly fee and no setup fee.
Language mode: the pricing page footer lists interface languages including English, German, Greek, Spanish, French, Croatian, Italian, Norwegian Bokmål, Dutch, Portuguese, Romanian and Swedish, but menu language counts are not stated, and the pages read do not say whether one menu can display several languages at once.
Core strengths: the free plan includes a website ordering widget, QR code menu for dine-in ordering, table reservations, order-ahead, scheduled orders, vacation mode, out-of-stock marking, promotions, reporting and a multi-location dashboard, and the product page also describes a hotel ordering system for room service.
Limitation: the vendor's own page states that GloriaFood will reach end of life on 30 April 2027, which makes it a short-term rather than long-term choice. Online payments, POS, branded app and advanced marketing are optional paid services, with online payment listed at US$29 per month and POS at US$49 per month per location on a two-year commitment.
Verdict: useful as a free starting point, but any operator planning beyond 2027 should treat migration as part of the decision. Verify the current status on the official pricing page.
MustHaveMenus
Best for: restaurants and multi-location groups that need brand-consistent menus across print, QR, web and digital screens.
Free or trial: the pricing page read does not state a free plan or free trial; it offers a free ROI consultation and a paid pilot for enterprise groups.
Language mode: the official pages read do not state a menu language count or a translation feature, and they do not describe simultaneous multilingual menus.
Core strengths: the platform is built around menu design, with thousands of templates, print-ready PDFs, QR codes and web links, digital signage with schedules and playlists, listings sync to Google, Apple Maps, Yelp and other publishers, and Toast and Square POS sync on the Pro plan. The vendor states it is trusted by more than 10,000 restaurants, hotels, senior living and food service businesses.
Limitation: it is a design-led platform rather than an all-in-one ordering and payment system, and the Display and Listings capabilities are paid add-ons, so signage, listings, printing and hardware costs accumulate on top of the base plan.
Verdict: the clearest specialist for omnichannel menu design and print consistency, less suitable as a standalone guest ordering system. Confirm current plan and add-on pricing on the official pricing page.
Choosing by restaurant need
| If your priority is | Consider first | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Publishing a complete menu this week with no budget | MenuForma Free Forever, or Menubly FREE | Both publish a permanent free entry plan with no credit card required |
| Serving guests in several languages at the same time | MenuForma paid plan, FineDine Growth or Premium, UpMenu | These are the products whose official pages describe multiple simultaneous menu languages |
| Replacing third-party delivery commission with direct orders | UpMenu, Menubly, GloriaFood | All three publish zero-commission or flat-fee direct ordering positioning |
| Running a hotel, guesthouse or room-service menu | MenuForma, GloriaFood | Both describe hotel or room-service ordering modes on their official pages |
| Keeping print, QR and digital screens visually consistent | MustHaveMenus | Design, print, signage and listings are the core of the platform |
| AI-assisted menu content, translation and marketing | FineDine | AI menu builder, AI media studio and AI website are central to the product |
| Avoiding a POS migration | MenuForma, Menubly, MustHaveMenus | These can sit alongside an existing till and card terminal |
Country notes
Austria
Austria uses the euro, while most vendors in this comparison publish prices in US dollars, so Austrian operators should confirm the billing currency and whether VAT is included before subscribing. German is the primary local language, which makes a menu that supports German plus additional guest languages relevant for both residents and visitors; MenuForma advertises 70+ languages and FineDine advertises AI language translation. MenuForma's official page states that its EU allergen labels feature displays allergen information and supports EU menu compliance requirements, which is a vendor claim rather than legal advice, and Austrian operators should verify current allergen and food-information obligations with an official national or EU source. No Austrian VAT rate, service charge rule or tipping norm is asserted here because the sources reviewed do not contain them.
Ireland
Ireland uses the euro, so readers will compare US-dollar list prices against a euro budget, and no converted euro price is stated in this article. Tourism brings non-English-speaking guests to cities, coastal towns and hotel restaurants, which makes menu translation a practical need rather than a compliance exercise. Pub food, cafés, hotels and guesthouses are common food-service settings alongside full-service restaurants, and hotel or room-service ordering is described by MenuForma and GloriaFood on their official pages. Menu prices in Ireland are commonly shown inclusive of VAT, so operators should keep tax presentation consistent between paper and digital menus, and confirm current allergen and food-information obligations with an official Irish or EU source.
Malta
Malta uses the euro, and UpMenu's official pricing page lists euro equivalents alongside US dollars, so a euro figure is directly available from that vendor for the modules it publishes. The other products in this comparison publish US-dollar prices in the pages reviewed, and no Maltese price or exchange rate is stated here. Malta is an EU member state, which makes EU-facing features such as allergen labels relevant to explain, but the sources reviewed do not confirm a specific Maltese menu-labelling requirement, so operators should check with an official Maltese or EU source. UpMenu's pricing page states that its Website module is GDPR and CCPA compliant, which is a vendor statement rather than a Malta-specific legal confirmation.
Norway
Norway's national currency is the Norwegian krone, while all prices in the sources reviewed are published in US dollars, so Norwegian buyers should confirm the billing currency, VAT treatment and any local payment method on the vendor's official pricing page before purchase. English is widely used in Norwegian hospitality, but guests may still prefer menus in their own language, and the sources reviewed do not document Norwegian language preferences. No Norwegian dining, tipping or service-charge norm is asserted here, and no Norwegian food-regulation or allergen source was present in the sources reviewed, so MenuForma's EU allergen label feature should be treated as a vendor claim to verify locally rather than a Norwegian legal citation.
United Kingdom
The United Kingdom uses the pound sterling, while the official pages reviewed publish prices in US dollars, euro and other currencies, and no GBP price was stated in those pages, so UK buyers should confirm the currency shown at checkout. UK guests commonly expect to order and pay at the table in pubs and casual dining, which makes table-level QR ordering a relevant capability, and takeaway and click-and-collect are familiar service modes that map to pickup and delivery ordering features. MenuForma's official page states it displays allergen information and supports EU menu compliance requirements, but no UK-specific regulation was verified in the sources reviewed, so UK operators should confirm current allergen and food-information obligations with an official UK source.
How MenuForma fits the workflow

Across all five countries, the practical question is the same: how does a menu get from the kitchen's current document to a guest's phone, and how does it stay accurate afterwards? MenuForma's official page describes a three-step workflow: upload a PDF, photo or website link; let the platform generate the QR menu and ordering page, with automatic translation into 70+ languages on the paid plan; then share the QR code and link to receive orders, payments and Google reviews. The same page states that dishes, prices and descriptions are extracted with AI assistance and should be reviewed and edited before publishing, which is the point where human translation review and local adaptation matter. Machine translation is a starting point, not a substitute for checking dish names, allergen wording and local terminology, and operators in Austria, Ireland, Malta, Norway and the UK should have a native speaker review the guest-facing text before it goes live.
Conclusion
There is no single best platform for all five countries, because the buying decision depends on whether a venue needs display only, table ordering, or a full ordering and operations stack. MenuForma is the most practical starting point for independent restaurants, cafés, pubs and small hotel groups that want a complete multilingual QR menu without replacing their POS, because its Free Forever plan publishes a full menu at no cost and its paid plan adds multiple languages and ordering workflows. Menubly and GloriaFood compete on free or low-cost entry, UpMenu on modular commission-free ordering, FineDine on AI-assisted content, and MustHaveMenus on print and signage consistency. Whichever product is shortlisted, confirm the current price, billing currency, VAT treatment, language limits and contract terms on the vendor's official pricing page, and check allergen and food-information obligations with an official national or EU source.
FAQ
Which QR menu platform is easiest to start with for a small restaurant in these five countries? MenuForma's Free Forever plan and Menubly's FREE plan both publish a permanent free entry point with no credit card required. MenuForma's free plan supports one restaurant, one primary language and unlimited menu items, while Menubly's free plan covers a mini website, a built-in online menu and a QR code menu. Both are reasonable first tests before committing to a paid tier.
Can these platforms show a menu in several languages at the same time? It depends on the product and the plan. MenuForma lists multiple languages on its paid plan and one primary language on Free, FineDine lists multiple languages and currencies on Growth and Premium but one on Starter, and UpMenu lists multi-language as a platform capability. Menubly, GloriaFood and MustHaveMenus do not state simultaneous multi-language menus on the pages reviewed.
Do I need to replace my existing till or card terminal? No, not for a standalone QR menu. MenuForma, Menubly and MustHaveMenus can sit alongside an existing POS, while UpMenu, FineDine and GloriaFood offer deeper ordering and payment layers that may connect to or replace parts of the current setup. Decide first whether you are buying a menu or an operations platform.
How should I handle allergen information on a digital menu? MenuForma states that its EU allergen labels feature displays allergen information and supports EU menu compliance requirements, and FineDine lists allergen and nutrition labels on all plans. These are vendor claims, not legal advice, so operators in Austria, Ireland, Malta, Norway and the UK should confirm current obligations with an official national or EU source before relying on any software feature.
Are the published prices in euro or in US dollars? Most of the vendors reviewed publish prices in US dollars, while UpMenu also lists euro, pound, Canadian dollar and Swiss franc equivalents. No exchange rate is applied in this article, so buyers should confirm the billing currency and VAT treatment shown at checkout on the official pricing page.
What happens if I outgrow the free plan? Each product has a different upgrade path. MenuForma adds multiple languages, branding removal and ordering workflows on the paid plan, Menubly moves to PRO for custom domain and custom menu design, and FineDine moves to Growth or Premium for multiple languages and higher order limits. Check the current plan comparison before you need the upgrade.
Is GloriaFood still a safe long-term choice? GloriaFood's own page states that it will reach end of life on 30 April 2027 and that it remains committed to supporting existing customers through that date. That makes it a reasonable short-term free option but a poor foundation for a multi-year plan, and operators should plan a migration path.
Which platform is best for a hotel or guesthouse menu? MenuForma describes hotel and room-service QR codes per room number, and GloriaFood describes a hotel ordering system for room service and other hotel areas. Both are worth shortlisting for hospitality venues, with the caveat that GloriaFood's published end-of-life date affects long-term planning.
Can I keep my printed menu as well as the QR menu? Yes. MenuForma's own FAQ states that paper menus do not have to be replaced and can remain available for guests who prefer them, with the digital menu used for the latest prices and sold-out items. MustHaveMenus is the strongest option if print and digital design consistency is the main requirement.
How often should I check vendor pricing pages? Plan names, prices, trial terms and feature limits change, and the figures in this article were read on 10 October 2026. Check the official pricing page before signing up, and keep a note of the billing period, currency and any annual commitment.
Sources
- MenuForma official product page: https://menuforma.com/
- MenuForma official pricing page: https://menuforma.com/#pricing
- Menubly official product page: https://www.menubly.com/
- Menubly official pricing page: https://www.menubly.com/pricing/
- UpMenu official product page: https://www.upmenu.com/
- UpMenu official pricing page: https://www.upmenu.com/pricing/
- FineDine official product page: https://www.finedinemenu.com/en/
- FineDine official pricing page: https://www.finedinemenu.com/en/pricing/
- GloriaFood official product page: https://www.gloriafood.com/
- GloriaFood official pricing page: https://www.gloriafood.com/pricing
- MustHaveMenus official product page: https://www.musthavemenus.com/
- MustHaveMenus official pricing page: https://www.musthavemenus.com/menu/pricing.do
Related articles and further reading
- 5 Multilingual QR Menu Apps Compared for Restaurants in Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippines and Singapore (2026)
- 7 Best Multilingual QR Menu Apps for Austrian Restaurants in 2026: Features, Pricing, and Local Fit Compared
- 8 Best Digital Menu Software Platforms for U.S. Restaurants in 2026
- 5 Best Free QR Menu Makers in South Africa (2026): Which One Is Really Free?
Related Articles
- The UK Hospitality Labor Crisis: Why QR Menus Are the Key to Survival
- 2025 US Restaurant Tech Trends: The Widespread Adoption of Digital Ordering and Cloud Platforms
- The Unstoppable Boom of Online Food Delivery: How US and UK Restaurants Can Capture a Trillion-Dollar Market